Festivus Minimus

It has been a slow week, as far as progress along the Epic quest goes. Festivals are a great distraction from grinding out quests, but when you are just returning to the game after an absence, they do tend to dilute your enthusiasm. I suspect this is due to simply trying to do too many things at once, instead of concentrating on just one.

Case in point: the Summer Festival fishing quests. They give decent rewards, but take 20 minutes each. That’s a major chunk of spare time on a weeknight. However, the fact that you can snag Anfalas Star-Lit Crystals with festival currency keeps me coming back, and it is starting to make me feel burnt out. So, I believe I’m going to limit my festival intake over the next week.

Something non festival related – a panicked Gondorian guardsman sent me into the woods to seek out the source of some drumming that he heard. I came across a Druedain village, which was entertaining and a bit of a quest hub, but it also got me thinking. What inspired Tolkien to dream up the Druedain? They’re part-Pictish and part-Aboriginal. Almost everything in Tolkien’s work seem to have roots in European history and mythology, but I’m not sure where these guys fit in.

Leave a Reply

