Exploring the White City

I have been avoiding tackling any of the Epic Quest storyline, as I’m waiting for my adventuring companions to catch up to my current chapter. However, I have been freely exploring and undertaking the local quest content, other than the Epic.

Having pushed my way through Itilien and into Minas Tirith, I like what I’ve seen, but I’ve run smack into the limitations of the game client at this point. Because LotRO is an older game, it rally doesn’t utilize multiple core CPUs all that well (after all, the game engine was written a decade ago). The main gate area of Minas Tirith is especially bad; the models and details thend to pop in slowly, and the performance degrades even further, the longer you move around the city (which indicates a memory leak as well). Remember Wulf’s Cleft back in Dunland? This is why all of the troops in the camp were actually 2d paintings rather than full 3d models. After a couple of hours, the game dumps me at the desktop. There are multiple posts on the official forums about this, some of them with in-depth analyses with charts and graphs. The bottom line is that you can expect a lot of crashing while in Minas Tirith (or restarting), as you are going to spend a lot of time there. The quests in the city are pretty well done; it feels like your point of view has switched to Pippin’s, which is no great shock.

I have also begun to top off my skirmish soldier’s stats. Skirmishing remains one of the things that LotRO gets right. It is the oppopsite of an Epic Battle, like Helm’s Deep; these are small battle, but the outcome of them feels significant. It doesn’t hurt that skirmishes are great ways of racking up experience and coinage.

So, that’s it for this entry; hopefully, I will have gotten to push past Pelargir next week.

Leave a Reply

