The Burning Question

What are you looking for in a relationship… er… MMO?

That’s the question that I’ve had to ask myself, lately.  My spare time, which was previously devoted to WAR, has been spent on other pursuits.  Mostly, fooling around with a few console games and some games I downloaded from Good Old Games.  I’ve asked myself why I find this more compelling than WAR, and the only answer that I could come up with is that these games have a plot (however thin) that is new and compelling to me.  And that’s it, in a nutshell.

The reason that I grew tired of WAR is the same reason that I grew tired of WoW.  I got into a rut.  Every week, I did the same thing when I played WoW – raid.  Some people like routine and repetition.  I don’t mind some – repetitive stuff can be relaxing.  You know what you’re going to get, and what you have to do.  Despite being somewhat more random in outcome, WAR boils down to the same thing, for me.  Every night, I would log in and grind away at RvR.  I did some of the instances, of course, and they were quite fun the first time through.  However, it became just like raiding in WoW – you know the tricks, you go through the motions, and you farm the drops.

So, brainstorming time.  What if someone could come up with a game engine which allowed them to dynamically create or change quests on the fly?  Every once in a while, say every three months, the quests could change to reflect a progressing metaplot for the entire game.  NPCs could change locations, leave the game entirely, or whatever is needed.  Instead of just tacking on new areas and quests, the existing game environment changes, making for a more dynamic experience.  It may be a bit far fetched, but I think it would be fun.

Oh, and maybe it’s just because I’m a mean-spirited dwarf, but I found this highly amusing.

Leave a Reply

