Once More Unto the Breach

This morning, I struggled back to some semblance of normalcy in the wake of the family visit over the weekend.  Dragged myself out of bed, stumbled downstairs, and began to work on the helmets for the Dark Angel sergeants.  I didn’t do much, just black undercoating and picking out the eye lenses in red.  I also applied darker shading to the green armor of the standard bearer in order for him to match the rank-and-file a little better.  I did paint him ten years ago, and GW reformulated their paints twice since then.

I got to play for about an hour and a half on Koljarn.  We defended a keep in Praag, then rallied and took all of the BOs and the other keep.  It’s been a while since I played an engineer, but most things have not changed.

One thing that has changed, however, is ground-targeting.  It used to be that you could acquire a ground target and keep attacking it without having to click on the ground every time, which helped avoid tedium during big sieges.  However, you now have to click on the ground after each ground attack.  I understand that this was in somewhat of an effort to deal with line of sight issues, but it didn’t really address the problem very well.  You can still throw napalm or mines through walls, you just need to adjust the camera angle.  I wouldn’t mind in the least if they enforced line of sight rules to the target location – just leave me the ability to pre-set a ground target location so I don’t have to fumble around in the middle of battle.  Enough ranting.

On a much more positive note, there seemed to be plenty of healing to go around last night.  Koljarn never got killed, despite doing a few dumb things on his own.  Hey, sometimes you just have to charge a tank or two in order to confuse your enemies.  Next step is to get him guilded, but I’m taking it slow (as I mentioned previously).  I like the way that the Forsaken and Bugman’s Addicts seem to operate, but there are some other guilds out there which have good people, too.

Leave a Reply

