Glutton for Punishment

Sometimes, I really don’t understand myself.  As stated in my last post, players in tier 2 seem to have little to no grasp on whatever situation that they find themselves in.  If numbers are equal on both sides, you should always assume that your opponents are of at least equal skill to yourself, and the only things that can tip a conflict in your favor are luck, positioning, and terrain.  When you are attacking a defended keep or an objective, then you immediately surrender any possible advantage you might have had due to terrain – you might still surprise your opponents by coming from an unexpected direction, but that’s all.

So, I have been observing people repeatedly ramming themselves into keeps, getting boiled alive in the oil and getting totally wiped out.  I observe the rule in my previous post – if we get wiped out, don’t go back.  And the complaints are amusing to read.  People whining that they weren’t healed while they stood in the oil, getting french-fried.  Other people (usually a DPS player) complaining that there aren’t enough tanks and healers on the server.  Still others want to sit in the open field near a keep and fight in the open – an interesting tactic, but utterly worthless when you opponent wisely sits in a keep and waves to you instead of marching out to their potential death.

I’ve been asking myself why I don’t just grind my way out of tier 2 with PvE, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t even know the answer myself.  Though some people insist otherwise, I don’t remember tier 3 being much better than what I’ve encountered in tier 2 on Vortex.  To the best of my recollection, people didn’t start to use their gray matter until tier 4.  Even then, it took them a while to get out of the mindless frothing berserker mindset and adopt a goal-oriented RvR strategy more akin to low cunning.   Maybe I just like to sit on the sidelines and laugh at people.

I don’t know.

I got some D&D in on Saturday, and we had a little fun with that.  I also base-coated four more Dark Angel sergeants.  It’s going to take a few more coats of bleached bone to get the robe to the right color, but I don’t mind – I’m on nights again for two weeks, and this gives me something to do for an hour in the morning.

Leave a Reply

