The Elf that Roared

Last night, I finally found myself with enough spare time to log in to Vortex for a little while.  Keene, my Archmage, is now rank 21, and is the proud owner of a single target DOT/heal debuff.  The only problem is, of course, that he’s expected to be a healbot.  As stated previously, sitting around and waiting to heal is not exactly what I’d call exciting.  Some people love it – I’m not one of those people.

So, I woke Belus from tier 1 torpor, and ranked him up to 13 through RvR alone.  Belus is my White Lion, and the difference is significant.  Want to play a finesse class?  Play an Archmage.  Want to play a wrecking ball?  Play a White Lion.  The fact that White Lions get some limited group-buffing attacks and crowd control later in their careers is what seals it for me.  I really prefer the White Lion over the Archmage.

Beside, after a day of dealing with people at the office, I really feel the need to go beat on something when I get home.  The White Lion fits that need quite well.  Telling your lion to go chew on a goblin shaman is cathartic.

Tiers 1 and 2 on Vortex were less crowded than I had hoped, though – I only saw five slayers the whole night.  While this may be good for realm balance, it isn’t the surge of lower-ranked characters that I was hoping for.

Speaking of surges, Mythic has decided to fold several nigh-empty servers into other lower-populated ones.  Ostermark is one of the servers which is going to be receiving people from the nearly empty source servers.  It’s a good idea, but I don’t think that it’s going to bring enough people to Ostermark to inject life once again.  I wish they’d just let me transfer Koljarn out of there.

Leave a Reply

