Exhaustion

Had a 12-hour work day ending at midnight, arrived home at 0100, got to bed around 0200, and followed this up with a dentist appointment first thing in the morning.  I have had neither the time for WAR nor enough sleep to be really coherent.  To add insult to injury, I get to the dentist’s office as they are opening up, and they tell me to go back home; the hygienist has the flu.

I did get to read this interesting post on the Greenskin blog this morning.  I have to say that I’ve experienced this, and it’s puzzling to me.  As much as I advocate the liberal use of low cunning, I will be the first to say that there is a difference between using creative and underhanded tactics, and just running from a fight.  I can only assume that this Order warband was farming gold bags, because there’s no other justification for it.  I suppose I really shouldn’t comment further, as I wasn’t there.

In a fit of nostalgia, I have ordered a copy of “Traveller”, books 0-8.  For those of you who have never played Traveller, I can only describe it as the seminal science-fiction role playing game.  Published way back in 1977, the mechanics are a little clunky, but it’s a lot of fun.  Personally, the best space-opera type rules that I have experienced were in the first edition Star Wars RPG, which used the “d6” system.  Those rules encourage a sort of dramatic and heroic role play that is just not possible in most other rule-sets.  The Traveller setting and technology really shine as being some of the most superior books ever written, though.  I may do a sort of a hybrid between the two — adopt the Traveller concept to d6 rules.

Weekend in sight.  Must persevere.

Leave a Reply

