Did Anyone Get the Number on that Truck?

You know, I really dislike going to the doctor for any reason.  They are guaranteed to make you run around in circles for the rest of the day.  I have been having jaw pain for a few days, so I made an appointment to see the doctor.  The doctor wasn’t in, but they said I could see the nurse practitioner.  Whatever, just let me see someone, ANYONE who can give me a clue as to what is going on. 

The nurse sat me down, messed with my jaw a little, and told me to go get x-rays from my dentist.  My dentist is good at what he does, but he’s just a plain vanila dentist, no specialty.  Unsurprisingly, when I called the dentist, he thought I was out of my mind when I asked for x-rays.  He had me come in to the office, had me sit down and checked my jaw out, but did not take any x-rays.  His diagnosis: dislocated jaw.

He gave me a handful of names and phone numbers for oral surgeons, and asked me to contact one of them that was on my insurer’s list of in-network doctors.  So, I did.  And again, the oral surgeon’s office thought I was out of my mind when I told them that I wanted an appointment, but the dentist did not give me any x-rays.  Reluctantly, they gave me an appointment.  I know it’s asking a lot, but I just wish there was a way to get these people in communication with each other.  Now I’m in pain, and irritated.

All of which makes me want to dislocate the jaws on a number of people.

Leave a Reply

